Looking for a wife

Our son is now just over four months old. Last week his daddy told a friend of mine–in a short exchange before he handed the phone over to me–that we are looking for a wife for our boy. “We have one here waiting for him,” she replied.

He’s been telling people this looking-for-a-wife line since we got home from the hospital. “That’s the best answer I’ve heard so far,” he told me later. This friend who is from the same background as my husband understood the meaning, unlike the Caucasians who are generally at a loss as to how to respond. I was myself.

It just means that our boy is growing quickly, he had to explain to me.

So there will always be more to learn in our cross-cultural marriage. That is part of what keeps it interesting and fun.

2 thoughts on “Looking for a wife

Leave a Reply

