Bean Soup Moshawa

My sister Clair has made a New Year’s resolution to cook something new each month. That would not be much of a resolution for me. I think I may average at least one new recipe a month without any deliberate planning. I like variety. (In fact I have a quite a history of experimentation in the kitchen, which has included some flops that I will never be able to live down. The grape pie and the minestrone that “burned all the way down” probably top the list.)

My new recipe this month was Bean Soup Moshawa. It’s a tasty Afghani soup, great with naan or pita. A half pound of ground beef was in the original recipe, but I omitted it.

1 cup mung beans
1 can garbanzo beans, drained
1 can kidney beans, drained
1 medium onion
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 6 ounce can tomato paste
1 teaspoon crushed garlic
2 ½ teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon freshly ground coriander seeds
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
½ teaspoon black pepper
6 cups water
2 cups plain yogurt
½ cup water
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons flour

Rinse mung beans, put in a saucepan with 3 cups of water, and bring to a boil. Simmer 20 to 25 minutes or until soft. Drain.
Sauté onion in olive oil in a soup pot. Add tomato paste, beans, seasonings, and water. Bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and cornstarch, pour in the water and stir until it is a smooth paste. Stir in the yogurt. Add this to the soup and heat until hot but not boiling.
Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Bean Soup Moshawa

  1. What are mung beans? Do they come dry or canned? I don’t make many new recipes because I rarely use them. Though I found one at Wilma’s for Irish bread that I might try.

  2. Mung beans (also spelled moong) are an odd dried bean that you could probably find at a health food store. They don’t taste that great by themselves, hence the addition of coriander seeds in this recipe.

Leave a Reply

