Dip

Mom used to make bean dip. As near as I can remember, it was a can of red kidney beans, juice and all, in the blender. I think as kids we mostly used it as an excuse to eat tortilla chips. But there’s something about foods one used to eat as a kid that stick in a special place in your memory. So when I saw this recipe for bean dip, I thought I ought to give it a try for old time’s sake. The white beans and addition of cumin make it seem a bit more “grow up,” perhaps.

It’s a healthy veggie dip. Not quite as healthy with tortilla chips, but hey, there’s protein in there. I’m sure if I had any tortilla chips around, they’d have been brought out for the occasion. Anyway, here’s a recipe that’s easy and worth a try.

White Bean Dip
15.5 ounce can of white beans, drained
1 small clove garlic
2 T olive oil
2 t ground cumin
a dash or two of black pepper
2 T fresh lime (or lemon) juice

Put all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Add a bit more water if you wish to have a thinner dip. Chill for a few hours to let flavors blend. Serve garnished with paprika.

One thought on “Dip

  1. I remember eating it on tacos with the homemade corn tortillas. I bet eating that combo again (with the shredded Land o Lakes american cheese) would really take us back.

Leave a Reply

