Squash

One thing I like about fall is the fresh produce. Since we don’t have a garden of our own, we rely on the farmer’s market and the farmers we’re related to. After a visit last Saturday, our kitchen is brimming with potatoes, sweet potatoes, squash, apples, and tomatoes. (Thanks, Tim.) It has kept me busy.

Today I froze tomatoes, made five pints of apple jelly, and prepared the apples for five more pints, which I’ll make once I get some jars to put it in.

We’ve been eating squash at least once a day. I like it with just a bit of butter and salt, but it’s time for variety. So earlier in the week, I used some of the squash to make muffins, adapting a sweet bread recipe.

Squash muffins:
3/4 cup sugar
scant 1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 heaping cup of baked squash
1 tablespoon white vinegar
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
dash of ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon each baking soda and baking powder
dash of salt

Mix as you usually do for quick breads. Put batter into a muffin tin. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.

What’s your favorite way to prepare squash?

3 thoughts on “Squash

  1. sounds like you’ve been busy!I like to prepare squash in the most unhealthy way…squash bars. I made a pan of them yesterday for small group. kevin is enjoying them immensely.

  2. the muffins sound yummy. I have only tried to make squash once and it didn’t turn out well so I haven’t attempted again. I like it best when someone else makes it đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

