A noteworthy find

Last week I was steeped in an editorial project that led me to a Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature. Then I made several trips to the library for books and read like crazy, searching for passages that met all the requirements. Wishing I had the time to savor several of the books, I realized that even a dream job has its drawbacks (and that was just one of a handful).

Seedfolks by Paul Fleischman was a book I skimmed and know I want to go back to for a closer read. It takes place in a neighborhood with many recently arrived immigrants, among others. One girl decides to plant some beans in an empty lot, which over the course of the summer is transformed into a community garden. Not surprisingly, this garden holds much promise for helping the neighbors get to know each other.

One thought on “A noteworthy find

Leave a Reply

