Spontaneity

My husband came home from work announcing that we needed to get out of the house. Considering that our toddler is enamored with buses, he thought we ought to take a bus ride. It was only a half an hour before dinner and my first thought was about the terrible timing. But rather than insist on sticking to a schedule, as I often do, I started getting our son’s shoes on and suggested a destination that didn’t involve a transfer. My boys were were out the door before I’d even collected the quarters, replenished the snacks in the diaper bag, and filled the water bottles.

We enjoyed the sights of the city and got to teach some new concepts, such as opening and shutting bus doors.

On the way home, our little one began singing “The Wheels on the Bus” at the top of his lungs. “Your dream of riding the bus has come true,” his daddy concluded. And I was glad I’d been open to something spontaneous.

What was the last spontaneous thing you’ve done?

3 thoughts on “Spontaneity

  1. It sounds like Adam had fun.Can't remember the last time I did something spontaneous…unless you count up staying up until one o'clock to finish a quilt.

  2. What a fun day. That inspires me to do more spontaneous things. I am taking a road trip to Olympia, Wa. from California and I have decided to make NO reservations and instead stop where and when I want. Very different for me who likes to have all things planned and all ducks in a row.

  3. I did something spontaneous today…went to a funeral for a coworker's dad (he was old and unwell). Not so fun as riding a bus with a toddler, but thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

