no-crust apple pie

The only thing I don’t like about this recipe is the title. It sounds too “slacker,” which is about the worst label I can imagine getting tagged with.

Since we had a lot of apples patiently waiting to be used up, I pulled out the old church cookbook yesterday evening and made a no-crust apple pie for my husband to take to work. It was a hit, he said.

Here’s how to make this tasty fall dessert.

Place 3 cups of sliced apples in a 9-inch pie pan. Sprinkle with 1 tablespoon sugar and 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon.

Mix together the following:
3/4 cup melted butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt

Pour batter over apples and bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes.

3 thoughts on “no-crust apple pie

  1. You are a great cook — I miss the desserts and homemade frosting you used to make. I wish I had more desire to cook, but I take after my mom in making very simple dinners.

Leave a Reply

