homemade pita

The last time I bought some pita, my husband told me we should have this more often. I wondered how hard it could be to make pita myself. Today I tried it and was pleased with the results. In fact we ended up starting our lunch shortly after 11, when the hot pockets were pulled out of the oven.

I found the recipe at The Fresh Loaf and made it with one cup whole wheat and two cups white flour. I baked them at 425 degrees for four to five minutes per batch (a little hotter and longer than the recipe stated). It seemed that a minute or so between batches to allow the oven and stone to heat back up made for better puffing during baking.

2 thoughts on “homemade pita

  1. Isn't it fun to try new things from scratch? This Christmas we made 200 tamales and oh what a project. We then gave them away for Christmas gifts…though they were not half as good as those the Hispanic ladies make at our church. Next year? Buy them from the ladies!

Leave a Reply

