too little sleep

I once read that the hour after a person wakes is his or her sanest hour. I might qualify that by adding, provided one has gotten enough sleep.

Lack of sleep is easy to recognize in others–I saw a vivid example this morning–not so easy to see in myself. Without adequate sleep, we let the little things grow larger than life. Any simple disappointment brings us close to tears. Arguments escalate for no good reason. Thinking grows foggy.

If I were as diligent at making sure I get enough sleep as I am at making sure our boy does, I’d probably be a more balanced person.

Time to get to sleep.

One thought on “too little sleep

Leave a Reply

