english only

I have been reading another blog where the topic of immigrants taking their driver’s license exam in a language other than English has sparked quite a debate. The issue spills over into racism, language learning, xenophobia, use of tax dollars, etc.

The thing that struck me was how theoretical the whole discussion was. I imagine very few of the comments were written by people who actually have any personal connections, much less friendships, with “these people” that they’ve got such strong, (often cold) opinions about.

One thought on “english only

  1. This is along the same line. I read (and taught) the inscription on the Statue of Liberty again and wondered if our country is really seen as advocating this anymore and if we actually do."Give me your tired, your poor,Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me.I lift my lamp beside the golden door."

Leave a Reply

