refrigerator pickles

One of my aunts brought over some cucumbers from her garden. So I pulled out a favorite cucumber recipe and made some pickles this evening. Now it’s just a matter of waiting…

3 medium cucumbers
1 cup vinegar
1/2 cup water
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons dried dill weed

Slice the cucumbers thinly, without peeling them. Mix the remaining ingredients together to create the brine. Heat to boiling, remove from heat and pour over the cucumber slices. Refrigerate for 48 hours and then enjoy. These will keep several weeks in the fridge.

6 thoughts on “refrigerator pickles

  1. Thanks for the idea….we have cucumbers coming out our ears(what a visual picture!) from the garden and will make pickles; we've just been eating them plain with every meal and getting tired of them now.

  2. Another cucumber idea if you're looking for a new twist: lime and soy sauce, with a bit of salt. I first had them that way in Micronesia and still enjoy this Asian-themed dish from time to time.

  3. Actually, a Party Line recipe, I believe. One of Grandma's pickle recipes has turmeric in it, which is not my favorite. Perhaps that's what you didn't like as well…

  4. I was on the receiving end of some rather large cucumbers and I'm excited to try this old stand by recipe again. Thanks for posting it.Incidently, I happen to like tumeric. I just had some in my eggs this morning. I don't know if I'd care for it in my pickles, though.

Leave a Reply

