first day of school

September 1st is the first day of class in Mongolia. Even if it’s a Saturday. At the foreign language school where I taught, the college students all came that day wearing their best suits. Everyone in the college sat through the same first lecture, which, I gathered, was big on form, but shallow in substance. This is based on second hand information, though, since my language level was far below what was needed to comprehend the lesson.

Anyway, I’m thinking back today with fond memories of my five semesters of teaching at Erdem Hotlogch Foreign Language College. The students were some of the best I’ve had.

One thought on “first day of school

Leave a Reply

