voting

“Why don’t you just skip it?” my husband asked when we trying to figure out how I could get out of the house long enough to go vote. But I’d regret it if I didn’t.

So I got the baby fed and settled and the three-year-old situated with toys near the computer so his daddy could keep an eye on him. Then I escaped.

Our neighbor Mike was the volunteer who greeted me as I entered Washington Middle School gym, which had been converted into a polling place. Mike had been there since 6 a.m. At 7 p.m. he was still smiling and thanking people for voting. Across the country, countless volunteers like him put in some long days in order to make the elections run so smoothly. They did important work today.

2 thoughts on “voting

Leave a Reply

