soybeans

My latest culinary creation came about as I was trying to figure out what to do with the dried soybeans in the cupboard. How they got there is a story in itself.

My brother Wayne bought some bedding from a soybean grower. Before he got around to using it, some of the beans dropped to the ground, sprouted and started growing. He transplanted them into a row in the garden. They grew but no one paid much attention to them. Once when I visited last summer I discovered the soybeans patiently waiting for someone to pick them. I tried boiling them but they didn’t get soft. They were fully mature–past the edemame stage.

Later a friend told me that they should be soaked first: soak them for eight hours and boil them for 20 minutes. That worked in the fall, but as they’ve dried more, they require longer cooking, I’ve discovered.

This week I boiled the last of those soybeans for about an hour and a half. Then I fried some onion, garlic, celery and purple cabbage in sesame oil. I mixed the fried vegetables with drained soybeans and a generous amount of rice and seasoned it all with soy sauce and fresh lemon juice. We all thought I should make it again.

I wonder if Wayne will be buying any more soybean straw…

2 thoughts on “soybeans

Leave a Reply

