even a distinguished scholar can respect a stay-at-home mom

I sent my thesis adviser from some years back an email congratulating her on her distinguished scholar award from the American Association of Applied Linguistics. She emailed back asking what I’m doing these days. I was a little reluctant to admit that my career is pretty much on hold, but I reported, “I spend the better part of my days chasing after my two boys, answering lots of “why” questions, reading them picture books…”

Her response helped me keep things in perspective, “I know that life; it is good. This phase will pass, so enjoy your life now. It is so fleeting!”

One thought on “even a distinguished scholar can respect a stay-at-home mom

  1. I also know that life and IT IS GOOD. Looking back through these 60+ years, it was the best part and I have done lots of things! Yes, savor each moment. Some days (weeks, months?)to my utter regret, I got too busy to really PAY ATTENTION and now I would like to have the time back. Ahhh, hindsight!

Leave a Reply

