talking to strangers

“He seems to be at ease striking up a conversation,” my friend observed about my son while we sitting on the picnic tables at Connie’s Creamy Cone. My older boy was talking to another four-year-old, comparing notes about what it’s like to have little brothers. The other boy had two.

“I haven’t discouraged that,” I admitted. I have explained to our four-year-old that he shouldn’t accept candy and shouldn’t get into a car with someone he doesn’t know, but I don’t think it’s necessary to say that they can’t talk to strangers. I do it all the time at the grocery store, the post office… Sometimes it’s the only form of adult interaction I get during the work day.

She agreed that worst-first thinking is not the desired outcome. But, am I doing enough? How does one strike the right balance?

Leave a Reply

