bye-bye diapers

Potty training began in earnest Monday at 9 a.m. We got out the big-boy underwear, let our two-year-old choose the ones he liked best and put them on him. I knew he was ready – for the past month or more he’s been telling us when it’s time for a diaper change – but I wasn’t so sure I was ready. What if it takes him years to figure this out? I’ve read stories from moms who’ve done it in one day. I won’t measure up.

With the small potty at the ready, I filled him up on fluids and explained that it’s time to say “bye-bye” diapers – that it’s time to use the potty. I put him on about every 30 minutes. We read lots of books. He had a few accidents and a few successes. In a matter of hours, our two-year-old transitioned from indifferent to strongly disinterested in the process.

I tried to ease up a bit when I realized both of us were getting stressed, but by the end of day one, I was suffering from a mild headache. Why is this so hard? It’s a messy process. It doesn’t happen instantly.

On the second and third days, we’ve seen more successes. He understands what he needs to do, though he doesn’t always make it to the potty on time. But, the boy earned a balloon for his good effort today. And we really are getting closer to saying, “Bye-bye, diapers.”

7 thoughts on “bye-bye diapers

    • Spoken like a parent.
      Today he kept his underwear dry all day. I’m starting to think the hardest days are behind us, though the viligance remains high – and needs to for some time yet.

    • I was so not looking forward to it, but I’m glad we just did it. I agree with your about throwing a party, but as I’ve learned with the first child, it happens so gradually that it’s hard to say when the training is done. One day you realize that there are no more accidents and the child doesn’t need all of the promptings to make sure he gets to the potty when needed. Then it dawns on me that we’ve accomplished something significant.

Leave a Reply

