simple cauliflower soup

I don’t have much sympathy for picky eaters. My theory is that children acquire such habits from their parents. My husband and I are not picky. So I was not sure how it came about some months ago that my boys seemed to turn their noses up at just about everything I cooked. I did little to cater to their finicky habits and usually just let them choose from the options on the table, though there were times when I offered a piece of toast (without jam). Mostly I just let them decide how much to eat, and kept desserts off the menu. I’m glad that we’ve made it past that phase, though I suppose it could reappear at any time without warning.

With the cooler weather, their appetites have also improved. That makes it easier to try new things, like this cauliflower soup recipe. I offered a small bowl of it to three kids recently. My four-year-old ate it, though it was not his favorite. Our three-year-old lunch guest liked it well enough to take seconds. My younger boy only took one spoonful. Maybe next time. At age two, a child’s tastes practically change from day to day so we keep offering whatever is on the table.

Anyway, I was pleased both with the simplicity and the taste of this soup. So much so I’m considering the purchase of an immersion blender to make it easier and quicker to blend this tasty snow-white puree (as well as another favorite pureed soup.)

1½ tablespoons olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

½ head of fresh cauliflower, chopped

Extra virgin olive oil

Freshly ground black pepper

Cook the onion in the 1½ tablespoons of olive oil until tender. Add chopped cauliflower and ½ cup of water. Simmer the cauliflower until it is tender. Add 2¼ cups of water, bring it back to a simmer and cook for another 15 minutes, uncovered. Puree the soup in batches. Reheat the soup, adding a bit more water if needed.

This slightly modified recipe is from Food 52.

4 thoughts on “simple cauliflower soup

  1. LOVE Food 52!!! My brother and his wife gave it to us for Christmas last year and those recipes are delicious. We also enjoy the cauliflower soup one. Someday let’s do a post series on the wonders of the Food 52. We could even include the kids….although yours sound more willing to try new things then mine. I have to work on that. 😉

Leave a Reply

