how parents keep their sanity on cold winter days

Yesterday I felt no reason to venture into the tundra with my two charges, especially when it takes at least 20 minutes to get us all bundled up and out the door. Such is our lot in January in Minnesota. And in February. And much of March.

Today the headline on the cover of one of the free weekly publications I scan on my way out of the library caught my eye: “Hibernation: how to stay home in style this winter.” I just had to grab a copy. Of course, the article didn’t offer much inspiration for my current state. Then again, it made no claims about solutions for keeping preschool boys from bickering or hurting each other when in close proximity for extended periods. (Even so, I’ll hang on to it for the foolproof gnocchi recipe, which I may try soon.)

So I’m still brainstorming. What are some creative ways to pass an hour or two on those days when you’re feeling stuck inside with your kiddos?

6 thoughts on “how parents keep their sanity on cold winter days

  1. Play dough??? There’s a recipe I have from our daycare to make at home–I tried it and it came out pretty nice.

    I know you are probably not a TV person, but a 30 minute video could be a last resort.

    Yoga?? That helps me unwind–K also tries it with me.

  2. Oh boy, that’s a hard one, isn’t it? Sometimes we’d go to the library and pick some books and then try and find a “matching” video to accompanying them. Also, arts and crafts. LOTS of that. 🙂 But it is a marathon, that’s for sure. Good luck to you!!!

    • Marathon is a good word for it.
      Yes, libraries are lovely. We try to visit weekly.
      And today it was nice enough to play in the snow, so we got some fresh air and exercise.

  3. The good thing is your kids like to listen to books, so you could have a reading marathon. Other ideas are making tents of furniture and blankets or learning activities like making patterns. There is a book I have seen at the library that has 365 TV free activities that could give you some more ideas.

    • We have been getting better at going with the flow, it seems. There’s value in unstructured play so I like it best when they come up with their own ideas. But making patterns is something we should do more often.

      Perhaps I’ll look for that book after I get through the books for your reading challenge.

Leave a Reply

