mom in the picture

This post is inspired by a Huff Post piece from last year, The Mom Stays in the Picture by Allison Tate.

“The kids are so much cuter than we are,” she wrote, “better to just take their pictures, we think. But we really need to make an effort to get in the picture.”

When I read that line I couldn’t help think how right she is. It reminded me of when the funeral director asked my dad for a picture of my mom so they’d know how to style her hair for the final viewing. We couldn’t find a single recent picture of her. My dad ended up giving them her high school graduation picture, which had to be about 15 years old. No joke.

“I’m everywhere in their young lives, and yet I have very few pictures of me with them,” Tate said. “Someday I won’t be here — and I don’t know if that someday is tomorrow or thirty or forty or fifty years from now — but I want them to have pictures of me.”

So here is a gift for my sons:

First try
First try
Second try
Second try
This isn't fun anymore, our oldest is thinking. Perhaps a fish face will add to the entertainment value.
This isn’t fun anymore, our oldest is thinking. Perhaps a fish face will add to the entertainment value.

 

Happy Mother’s Day.

In the comments, feel free share a link to your photo with mom in the picture.

4 thoughts on “mom in the picture

  1. Nice photos! Sometimes the silly ones are best. Like the photos of my kiddos in our bathroom.

    After K’s dad died we had a similar conversation. We both try to get in more photos…and videos, too. Much to my chagrin sometimes.

    Happy early Mother’s Day, Nitas!

    • “Yes” to silly photos. They capture an important part of childhood, a part we don’t want to forget. Yesterday I got some pictures of the boys with their shirts off, showing their muscles.

Leave a Reply

