how it goes when the mom who rarely leaves home is gone for the weekend

My sons both protested about my leaving them for the weekend. Even though I explained Aunt Clair wanted to celebrate her birthday with her sisters – with no children, and no guys either.

“That’s the worst party ever,” my five-year-old said.

“That’s the worst party ever,” my two-year-old repeated.

But I gave each of them a big hug and left them in the capable hands of their daddy. He got a hug too.

Turns out my three guys created their own fun. They were well rested and happy when I got home Sunday afternoon. My older son reported, “Daddy gave us the foods we like to eat.” (Goat soup, yogurt, ice cream and grapes, in case you’re wondering.) My younger one said, “Daddy took me to the zoo.”

I was relieved that I am replaceable, at least for a few days at a time.

4 thoughts on “how it goes when the mom who rarely leaves home is gone for the weekend

  1. Though I am sure you missed the dear males in your life, I trust you had a wonderful time with your sisters! So glad you got to do this!

Leave a Reply

