the value of language study

Last week a friend who was reading my blog used the word “intentional” to describe my parenting. It’s a term I’d gladly embrace, but to do so feels hypocritical.

Language learning is one area in which we’ve mostly failed our boys. And for all I know about the value of raising a bilingual child, I’ve got no excuse. Sure, our boys know a few words in their daddy’s first language, but they’re hard pressed to utter a full sentence, much less carry on a conversation.

How brazen of me to write about the value of learning a second language. Of course, it’s not too late to step up our efforts.

 

2 thoughts on “the value of language study

Leave a Reply

