why did you put black beans in the brownies?

My four-year-old and I both like to mess around in the kitchen. So I thought we’d give this “nutritious” version of a dessert a try one recent morning.

The day before, I had purposely soaked and cooked some extra black beans along with the beans that were destined for our chili. My son, who does not generally eat black beans of his own volition, pushed the button of our small food processor and watched those black beans turn into puree. He helped measure and add the vanilla, maple syrup, and other ingredients that we blended in. Then we baked the brownies and let them cool while we went to the library.

After lunch, we sampled them. His first reaction was, “Yum.” A moment later, “Why did you put black beans in the brownies?”

For the most part, I’m not a mom who resorts to hiding nutrient-dense ingredients in her children’s food. I think kids ought to learn to appreciate nutritious foods in a recognizable form, but at the same time I’m not averse to making homemade sweets a little bit better for them. So, I’ll probably make them again.

Though my older son said he likes ‘real’ brownies better, he never refused one of these.

4 thoughts on “why did you put black beans in the brownies?

    • It was fun.
      Our next project is baba ganoush, a dip that the eggplant in our fridge has been marked for. I think my boy is going to be well versed in blending even before he starts school.

    • Good point – it was one of our first experiences with a ‘secret ingredient.’ Today, I have seen recipe for a ‘mock apple’ crumble dessert that uses zucchini (in the St. Paul Farmer’s Market Cookbook). Too bad I don’t have any zucchini to try it out.

Leave a Reply

